Independent Study: books, plans, methods

Books suitable for teachers
Chris Lott

Independent Study: books, plans, methods

Post by Chris Lott » Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:04 pm

In part because of where I live and in part because of my profession (distance education), I've become interested in independent study of origami. This is a bit different than books that are best suitable for teaching, though there is likely some overlap.

So, I'm interested in finding/creating curriculum for independent learning of origami. There is a wealth of materials on the web, but figuring out how to use them is difficult. And many books don't really lend themselves to independent study.

Therefore, I'm interested in three things:
  • Books that are particularly good for self-study, preferably with some indication of age- and/or ability- level
  • Plans, guides, etc. for the independent learner
  • Ideas about methods that enable the independent learner to best learn the art
I'm not an expert, but I am an educator... so part of my pursuit might include creating an Open Education course, or similar, to meet this need.

ahudson

Re: Independent Study: books, plans, methods

Post by ahudson » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:50 am

I learned origami almost entirely from books, after being exposed to the basics during school, and didn't start folding from the internet or with other people until I was fairly technically proficient. I don't think I had the ideal starting sequence, but for lack of something else to start discussion, here are some of the pivotal books in my early origami life:
  1. John Montroll's "Animal Origami for the Enthusiast" was my first real origami book, at the age of 10 or so. I did some of the easier models, but got stuck a lot. I got a lot more out of Montroll's work when I came back to it a few years later.